Illinois Fire Service Institute

 

Illinois Prescribed Fire Council

Prescribed Burn The Illinois Prescribed Fire Council is a group of individuals, organizations, land mangers and agencies who have an interest in ensuring the safety and effectiveness of prescribed fires in Illinois. Membership is open to anyone. Those interested in natural resources, fire protection, public policy, habitat restoration, wildlife, in addition to private landowners and volunteers may find membership particularly beneficial.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Illinois Prescribed Fire Council is to promote the safe and continued use of prescribed fire on the Illinois landscape

Illinois Fire Needs Assessment

 Presentation on the IL Fire Needs Assessment.
Agencies are welcome to use or edit this presentation for educational purposes.

Board of Directors

Leslie Berns - Secretary
Lake County Forest Preserves
lberns@lcfpd.org

Douglas Chien - Director
Friends of Cook County
dskchien@sbcglobal.net

Scott Crist - Director
US Forest Service
scrist@fs.fed.us

Tom Flader - Director
Newport Township Fire Department
tflader@newportfire.org

Randy Heidorn - Treasurer
rheidorn@gmail.com

Bill Kleiman - Director
The Nature Conservancy
bkleiman@tnc.org

Tom Richter - Director
Wildland/Prescribe U of I - Fire Service Institute
"trichter@illinois.edu "

Littiken Rob - Vice President
The Nature Conservancy
rlittiken@tnc.org

Dr. Charles Ruffner - President
Dept. of Forestry - SIUC
ruffner@siu.edu

Jody Shimp - Director
IL-DNR

Bob Szafoni - Director
okaw.grove@gmail.com

Jason Timm - Director
Kell Fire Department
jtmm@illinois.edu

Brad Woodson - Director
McHenry County Conservation District
BWoodson@mccdistrict.org

Board Member Bios

Links

Get Certified to Participate in Prescribed Burns


Information

 
Address
11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Driving Directions
Contact Us
E-mail: fsi@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3800
            (800) 437-5819
Fax: (217) 244-6790
Library
E-mail: fsi-library@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-8925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Social Media
        

You are encouraged to use this site for individual educational purposes only; however copy and/or reprinting of any materials and photographs without authorization is strictly prohibited. Please obtain permission by contacting fsi@illinois.edu

© 2017 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois